darcydownunder

Just another WordPress.com site

Inward Bound! April 25, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Darcy Rose @ 12:43 pm

So, I know this is heaps late, but I have been so busy that I just didn’t have time to update, and then I was on holiday for two weeks with no computer, so I couldn’t update then. Please excuse me. But anyway, as you can probably tell, this post is all about one of the most amazing night/day of my life. It was also one of the toughest and most painful, but I’ll get to that in a bit. Right now, I’ll just do a bit of a run-down of Inward Bound.

If you don’t know the premise, each team, which consists of four individuals, is dropped off in the middle of nowhere in the middle of the night with no idea how they got there.  We’re given the co-ordinates of the endpoint and an estimation of how far we are from endpoint, and have to figure out where we are and how to get to the end using only a bunch of maps and a compass.  There are 8 divisions, 1-7i, although 7 and 7i run the same distance from the same place.   Div 1 runs longest, 7 and 7i run the shortest. I was in Div 2, and was expected to run about 90 kilometers.  Here’s a handy-dandy link  to learn more about the event. And here’s a picture of me with my team (and a bunch of Brucies) before we left.

From left, Connor, Ben, Dom, me! I’m not even going to try and list all the other Brucies.

But anyway, more about the actual event. I got on the bus at 9:30pm with all the other Div 2 teams, of which I think there were about seven, put on our blindfolds, and sat. And sat and sat and sat.  We had two bathroom breaks during which I still wasn’t allowed to take my blindfold off, and let me tell you, peeing in the woods with a blindfold on is a little bit weird because you don’t have nearly the balance you normally do.  However, I managed to go without any major disasters. At about 1am, we finally got off the bus and finally took off our blindfolds.  Since I was a scout, I darted off in one direction and the other scout ran off in the other.  Even though I had a headlamp, it was so foggy that I could barely see more than five meters.  Nevertheless, I found a few key landmarks and got back to my team.  After a brief debate, made easier by the discovery that the other direction was flooded, we scampered off. And by scamper I mean we plodded along at pace that can be maintained for 12+ hours of running.

Now, the thing about IB is that you don’t have to run on roads if you don’t want to, and sometimes, a little bit of bush-bashing can cut off upwards of 20k (12.4 miles).  So, with that in mind, our amazing nav Ben (seriously, the man is a genius), found a route that would involve cutting across some state forest land and ending up near some houses. The route ends up involving hopping a few barbed wire fences, but those are easily surpassed. Then, suddenly, we’re surrounded by barbed wire fences, it’s pitch black out with so much much fog that we can barely see more than a meter in front of us, and a house rears up, seemingly out of nowhere. And this is not your average farmhouse. I’m not sure if it was the hour (5am), the weather, or what, but this house was dead dodgy.  And there’s a bathtub in the field next to us. It has the distinct feel of a horror movie, and I’m waiting for a guy with a chainsaw to jump out and murder.  Then, suddenly, I see a pair of green glowing eyes RIGHT NEXT TO US and hear the terrifying sound of galloping hooves coming RIGHT TOWARDS US.  I don’t think I’ve ever run as fast as I did just then, dashing madly away. It was, quite honestly, the most terrifying moment of my life.
And that’s all for now.  I’m dead tired, and I’ll write more tomorrow.   Or the next day.  But fear not, I will tell you all.

 

One Response to “Inward Bound!”

  1. nancy Says:

    Green glowing eyes? Tell us more.


Leave a Reply

