darcydownunder

Just another WordPress.com site

Catch-up Time! June 5, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Darcy Rose @ 11:35 am

As you may have noticed, I have fallen MASSIVELY behind with my blogging.  Since I don’t feel like spending heaps of time writing long, involved essays that detail every minute of my life (not that you would really want to read that, either), I’m just going to post a few pictures of the more notable events that have occurred, except for my holiday travels during term break.  I’ll put up pictures and stories of that in a little while. And hopefully it will be a little while.

Bruce Hall had a bonfire by the forestry building. It was my first bonfire in Australia! We roasted marshmallows, which taste different from American marshmallows, and lit things on fire. I’m on my friend Maddie’s back next to Alex, Swayze, Hillary, Brenely, and Katie. ‘Twas a good night.

I participated in Live Below the Line, a campaign to raise money and awareness about extreme poverty.  I had to live on $2 of food a day for a week, and a bunch of other Brucies participated.  Here we all are, cooking dinner in South Kitchen.  From me down around the table is Me, Ruohan, Stephen, Bronnagh, Maddie, Michelle, Jenna, Eliza, Alex, Issy, and in the back from left are Nick, Tess, Sarah, and Sonja.  It was really fun and although I was SO HUNGRY the whole week (I basically ate rice and porridge for a week), I got to know a lot of people better. It also really helped me appreciate how tough it is to live below the poverty line.  I had issues and I still had heaps of luxuries.

I participated in Live Below the Line, a campaign to raise money and awareness about extreme poverty. I had to live on $2 of food a day for a week, and a bunch of other Brucies participated. Here we all are, cooking dinner in South Kitchen. From me down around the table is Me, Ruohan, Stephen, Bronnagh, Maddie, Michelle, Jenna, Eliza, Alex, Issy, and in the back from left are Nick, Tess, Sarah, and Sonja. It was really fun and although I was SO HUNGRY the whole week (I basically ate rice and porridge for a week), I got to know a lot of people better. It also really helped me appreciate how tough it is to live below the poverty line. I had issues and I still had heaps of luxuries.

We had a High Table (basically fancy dinner) for those who participated in Live Below the Line as well as people interested in the campaign. A woman who works for the Oaktree Foundation (the organization we raised money for) came and spoke and showed us some pictures of the schools that they’ve built with previous years’ funds. At the end we took a picture of all of us who participated, except for my friend Stephen. Top row, from left are Daniel, Michelle, Jenna, Sarah, Sonja, Ruko, James, Michael, Laura, Issy, and Alex. Front row from left are Eliza, Yen, Me, Ruohan, Daniel, Bronnagh, Katie, Tess, Mineka, and Nick. I’m so proud of everyone’s efforts!

I went climbing at the National Library again (see previous post from ages ago for what I’m talking about if you’re confused, but this time I saw a peacock! Apparently he just lives around the National Library and is named George or Alex or something rather human. It was a very cool moment!

Bruce had an end-of-semester ball at the Hellenic Club in Woden (a suburb of Canberra). The club was fairly nice, but Bruce, in its usual fashion, had a theme for the party: Toy Box. We were to dress up as a toy or character from our childhood. I chose SuperGirl, Superman’s cousin. There was a very terrible movie made about her from the 80s, I believe. Anyway, I had a fabulous time dancing the night away (fun fact: Most of the Australians I’ve met dance like I do. In fact, my friend Sarah Jane said that I “dance like an Australian.” which is to say, rather crazily. I felt so accepted! Anyway, from left are Stephen (dressed as a hot water bottle), Ryan (Ash from Pokemon…at least, I think that’s his name), Jenna (a fairy), Michelle, (Cookie Monster), Bronnagh (a doll), and me in front as Supergirl with a Supergirl pose.

Soon after Bruce Hall Ball (and by soon I mean like two weeks later), my friend Jed gave me his man-flu, which consisted of a sore throat, a headache, and a very whiny attitude. I am pictured here wrapped up like a burrito (my words) on Bronnagh’s floor. Jed gave her man-flu as well. We were not happy.

 

Leave a Reply

